print preview

Cyber-Defence Campus

Cyber threats have substantially increased in recent years. To this end, the Cyber Defence Campus (CYD) was founded in January 2019 in order to anticipate cyber developments more quickly. It forms the link between DDPS, industry and science in research, development and training for cyber defence.

Bright dots in front of a purple background forming two shaking hands.

What is the cyber-defence campus?

CYD Campus conferences

The Cyber-Defence Campus conference took place on 28 September 2021 in collaboration with the CRITIS 2021 (international Conference on Critical information Infrastructures Security). At the conference, experts from academia and industry held talks on key topics in the area of critical infrastructure protection. The conference brought together stakeholders from government, industry and academia to exchange insights on current and future challenges and drivers in cyberspace.


Cyber Startup Challenge

In order to discover the startup technology landscape and to submit innovative and concrete solutions for the protection of critical infrastructures to the DDPS, the Cyber Startup Challenge of the CYD Campus was held for the first time in 2020.

With this year’s slogan«Boost your Information Sharing and Analysis Center (ISAC)», innovative technological solutions in the field of cyber threat intelligence with a focus on critical infrastructure protection are sought. The technology of the winning company should have a significant impact on the daily work of cyber defence in Switzerland and will be integrated in the existing infrastructure of the DDPS. 


Collaboration with industry

One of our mission is to transfer new research developments and technologies into Proof of Concepts and prototypes for the Swiss Armed Forces. To achieve this goal, we work closely with academic institutions and industrial partners. Collaboration with startups and the established security-relevant technology and industry base (STIB) occurs via a Public-Private Partnership (PPP) or in projects funded by armasuisse through research mandates. Organizations interested in collaborations should contact us here

CYD Fellowships

Cyber Defence Research in Switzerland

Are you studying at a Swiss university and want to actively promote research in the area of safety and data sciences? Then the Cyber-Defence Fellowships could be just the right thing for you!

The Swiss Federal Institute of Technology at Lausanne (EPFL) and the Cyber Defence (CYD) Campus have joined forces in research and education in the area of cyber defence. The Cyber-Defence Fellowships are open to researchers and students at master, PhD and postdoc level.

You can register at: Applicant Portal CYD Fellowship

CYD Campus Conferences

Strategy Cyber DDPS

As a result of the changing ecosystem and the increasing threat of cyber attacks in all spheres of life, the Swiss government has declared cyber security a central and national security concern.

The Swiss Federal Department of Defence, Civil Protection and Sport DDPS thus adopted the first action plan for DDPS cyber defence (APCD) in 2016. In view of the rapid development of the cyber threat situation over the last five years, the new Strategy Cyber DDPS has been developed for the period 2021-2024, and is based on the action plan. Both the action plan and the new Strategy Cyber DDPS are coordinated with the overarching National Strategy for the Protection of Switzerland against Cyber Risks (NCS). As the focus of the Strategy Cyber DDPS, the Head of the DDPS, Federal Councillor Viola Amherd, defines the areas of activity and the corresponding distribution of tasks. The CYD Campus has the following three key tasks:

  • Early identification of trends in the cyber area: This includes comprehensive technology and market monitoring, international scouting of startups and maintaining a cooperation network.
  • Research and innovation of cyber technologies: Through the cooperation with universities and industry, emerging cyber risks are identified and innovative solutions developed to effectively counter threats in cyberspace. In addition, the CYD Campus aims to ensure and enhance the security and resilience of existing cyber systems.
  • Training cyber specialists: At the CYD Campus, talents are educated at master, PhD and postdoc level, and academic interns are trained for future challenges. In addition, CYD Campus subject matter experts define and supervise numerous student projects. 

Strategy Cyber DDPS
The Strategy Cyber DDPS structures the actions in the DDPS into four key tasks.


Cyber-Defence Campus Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun

Auf der Mauer 17
CH-8001 Zurich

EPFL Innovation Park, Bâtiment I
CH-1015 Lausanne
Tel.
+41 58 480 59 34

E-Mail

print preview

Cyber-Defence Campus

Cyber Bedrohungen haben in den letzten Jahren stark zugenommen. Hierzu wurde im Januar 2019 der Cyber-Defence Campus (CYD) gegründet um Cyber-Entwicklungen schneller zu antizipieren. Er bildet das Bindeglied zwischen VBS, der Industrie und der Wissenschaft in Forschung, Entwicklung und Ausbildung für die Cyberabwehr.

Leuchtende Punkte vor einem lila Hintergrund welche sich zu zwei sich schüttelnden Händen formen.

Was ist der Cyber-Defence Campus?

CYD Campus Konferenzen

Am 28. September 2021 fand in Kollaboration mit der CRITIS 2021 (Internationale Konferenz zur Sicherheit kritischer Informationsinfrastrukturen) die Cyber-Defene Campus Konferenz statt. Expertinnen und Experten aus der Wissenschaft und Industrie hielten an der Konferenz Vorträge zu Schlüsselthemen im Bereich des Schutzes kritischer Infrastrukturen halten. Die Konferenz brachte Akteure aus der Verwaltung, der Industrie und der Wissenschaft zusammen, um sich über die aktuellen und zukünftigen Herausforderungen und Treiber im Cyberspace auszutauschen.


Cyber Startup Challenge

Um die Startup-Technologie-Landschaft zu entdecken und dem VBS innovative und konkrete Lösungen zum Schutz kritischer Infrastrukturen vorzulegen, wurde im Jahr 2020 erstmals die Cyber Startup Challenge des CYD Campus durchgeführt.

Unter dem diesjährigen Motto «Stärken Sie Ihr Information Sharing and Analysis Center (ISAC)» werden innovative Technologielösungen im Bereich der Aufklärung von Cyber-Bedrohungen mit dem Fokus auf den Schutz kritischer Infrastrukturen gesucht. Die Technologie des Sieger-Unternehmens soll einen bedeutenden Einfluss auf die tägliche Arbeit der Cyberabwehr in der Schweiz haben und wird in die bestehende Infrastruktur des VBS integriert werden. 


Zusammenarbeit mit der Industrie

Eine unserer Aufgaben besteht darin, neue Forschungsentwicklungen und Technologien in Proof of Concepts und Prototypen für die Schweizer Armee umzusetzen. Um dieses Ziel zu erreichen, arbeiten wir eng mit akademischen Institutionen und Industriepartnern zusammen. Die Zusammenarbeit mit Start-ups und der etablierten Sicherheitsrelevante Technologie- und Industriebasis (STIB) erfolgt über eine Public-Private-Partnership (PPP) oder in Projekten, die von armasuisse über Forschungsaufträge erfolgen. Organisationen, die an einer Zusammenarbeit interessiert sind, können uns hier kontaktieren.

CYD Fellowships

Cyber-Verteidigungsforschung in der Schweiz

Studieren Sie an einer Schweizer Hochschule und möchten die Forschung im Bereich Sicherheits- und Datenwissenschaften tatkräftig vorantreiben? Dann könnten die Cyber-Defence Fellowships genau das richtige für Sie sein!

Die Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Lausanne (EPFL) und der Cyber-Defence (CYD) Campus setzten sich gemeinsam für die Forschung und Ausbildung im Bereich der Cyber-Verteidigung ein. Die Cyber-Defence Fellowships stehen Forschenden auf Master-, Doktoranden- und Postdoc-Ebene offen. 

Anmelden können Sie sich unter: Anmeldeportal CYD Fellowship.

CYD Campus Konferenzen

Strategie Cyber VBS

Aufgrund des sich wandelnden Ökosystems und der steigenden Bedrohung durch Cyberattacken in allen Lebensbereichen, hat die Schweizer Regierung die Cybersicherheit zu einem zentralen und nationalen Sicherheitsanliegen erklärt.

So verabschiedete das Eidgenössisches Departement für Verteidigung, Bevölkerungsschutz und Sport VBS im 2016 den ersten Aktionsplan für Cyberdefence VBS (APCD). Angesichts der rasanten Weiterentwicklung der Cyber-Bedrohungslage in den letzten fünf Jahren wurde für den Zeitraum 2021-2024 die neue Strategie Cyber VBS erarbeitet, die auf dem Aktionsplan aufbaut. Sowohl der Aktionsplan als auch die neue Strategie Cyber VBS sind mit der übergeordneten Nationalen Strategie zum Schutz der Schweiz vor Cyber-Risiken (NCS) abgestimmt. In der Ausrichtung der Strategie Cyber VBS legt die Chefin VBS, Bundesrätin Viola Amherd, die Handlungsfelder und die entsprechenden Aufgabenverteilungen fest. Der CYD Campus hat heute folgende drei Schlüsselaufgaben:

  • Früherkennung von Trends im Cyber-Bereich: Dies beinhaltet ein umfassendes Technologie- und Marktmonitoring, ein internationales Scouting von Startups und die Pflege eines Kooperationsnetzwerks.
  • Forschung und Innovation von Cyber-Technologien: Durch die Zusammenarbeit mit Hochschulen und der Industrie werden aufkommende Cyber-Risiken identifiziert und innovative Lösungen entwickelt, um Bedrohungen im Cyber-Raum wirksam zu begegnen. Ausserdem ist es das Ziel des CYD Campus, die Sicherheit und Resilienz der bestehenden Cyber-Systeme zu gewährleisten und zu erhöhen.
  • Ausbildung von Cyberspezialistinnen und -spezialisten: Beim CYD Campus werden Talente auf Master-, PhD- und Postdoc-Stufe sowie Hochschulpraktikantinnen und Hochschulpraktikanten für zukünftige Herausforderungen ausgebildet. Zudem definieren und betreuen Fachexpertinnen und Fachexperten des CYD Campus zahlreiche studentische Projekte. 
 

Strategie Cyber VBS
Die Strategie Cyber VBS struktriert die Handlungen im VBS in vier Kernbereiche.


Cyber-Defence Campus Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun

Zollstrasse 62
CH-8005 Zürich

EPFL Innovation Park, Bâtiment I
CH-1015 Lausanne
Tel.
+41 58 480 59 34

E-Mail